Memorandum of understanding signed with distributors to provide parts

ANN ARBOR, Mich. USA and DAEJEON, Korea – NSF International, a global organization with more than 70 years of certification expertise that provides independent certification throughout the automotive supply chain, has earned recognition from Korea’s Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport (MOLIT). The recognition enables parts manufacturers to utilize NSF International test reports to demonstrate equivalency with original equipment (OE) service parts and compliance with Korea Automobile Parts Association (KAPA) quality and performance requirements when entering the Korean market.

“We are pleased to provide high-quality certified aftermarket automotive parts to the Korean market,” said Bob Frayer, Global Managing Director, NSF International Automotive Certification Programs. “Manufacturers of NSF International certified parts will qualify for KAPA certification and as a result increase the availability of certified parts throughout Korea. For parts manufactured outside of Korea, KAPA will accept NSF certified parts and both the NSF mark and KAPA mark will be displayed on those parts.”

During a memorandum of understanding (MOU) ceremony between MOLIT, KAPA, STX Corporation, a Korean distributor, and NSF International, KAPA Executive Seok-Won Kim said, “We expect that as we develop this well-structured certification program, high-quality aftermarket parts can be distributed though this MOU with NSF International.”

NSF International’s Automotive Aftermarket Parts Certification Program certifies the quality and performance of a range of aftermarket parts (e.g. bumper covers, fenders, lights, bonnets, grilles, molding, etc.) via extensive product testing and manufacturing facility inspections to identify high-quality parts equivalent in form, fit and function to OE service parts. Evaluations include:

  • Parts material
  • Performance and function requirements
  • Vehicle test fits
  • Dimensional and strength requirements
  • Thickness and adhesion requirements for coatings
  • Corrosion and flammability requirements (as appropriate)
  • In-plant quality control requirements, which include passing an initial in-plant audit and ongoing audits
  • Packaging requirements
  • Ongoing in-market testing of certified parts

NSF International certified parts are pulled from the market and tested randomly to verify continued compliance. Additionally, NSF International certified manufacturing facilities are audited on a quarterly basis to verify compliance with ISO 9001 and other stringent NSF program quality requirements.

NSF International’s Automotive Parts Certification Program complements the NSF Automotive Parts Distributor Certification Program, which certifies that auto parts distributors have quality, inventory and part traceability systems in place, and the NSF Collision Repair Shop Certification Program, which certifies a shop’s ability to conduct high-quality repairs.

Distributors and manufacturers of automotive parts as well as repair shops and insurers seeking information about NSF International’s Automotive Certification can visit NSF International’s website or contact Bob Frayer at

Editor’s Note: Media interested in more information can contact or call +1 734 214 6242.

About NSF International: NSF International is an independent global organization that writes standards, conduct audits, and tests and certifies products for the food, water, health sciences and consumer goods industries to minimize adverse health effects and protect the environment ( In addition to NSF’s Automotive Aftermarket Parts Program, NSF International Strategic Registrations (NSF-ISR) offers a comprehensive portfolio of management systems registration solutions to meet the demands of the global marketplace ( NSF-ISR is the largest automotive registrar in North America and is recognized by the International Automotive Task Force (IATF) to provide ISO/TS 16949 registrations in the automotive sector. NSF-ISR also provides registrations for the following programs: ISO 9001, ISO 14001, OHSAS 18001/ISO 45001, AS 9100/10/20, ISO 13485, ISO 20000-1, Responsible Care (RC) 14001 and Responsible Care Management Systems (RCMS).