Minimize food safety hazards, reduce contamination risk and gain access to Canadian retailers and food processors.

CanadaGAP, a preventive program based on Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP), uses science-based measures to help ensure food safety of fresh fruits and vegetables. It is the first food safety program in Canada to be benchmarked to the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI), and we are one of only a few organizations accredited to certify to CanadaGAP.

Several large Canadian retailers and food processors require CanadaGAP certification for their growers.

To become certified, participants must comply with food safety requirements developed by the horticultural industry and reviewed for technical soundness by Canadian government officials. The operation must also undergo and successfully complete on-farm audits.

Minimize Known Food Safety Hazards and Reduce Risk

CanadaGAP certification applies to fresh fruits and vegetables. This includes leafy and cruciferous vegetables, potatoes, bulb and root vegetables, asparagus, sweet corn, legumes, fruiting vegetables, small fruit, tree and vine fruit, and greenhouse production. The standard covers:

  • Production: Field and greenhouse activities
  • Packing: The first time that harvested products are put in packaging materials
  • Storage: Before packing, including standalone storage facilities
  • Repacking: Removing packed product from packaging and repacking it into market-ready packaging materials (may include sorting and grading activities)
  • Wholesale: Storage and selling of market product
  • Brokerage: Arranging the transaction of produce between a supplier and a buyer

Choose From Six Certification Options

Technical requirements are the same for all options. The differences are the number of organizations certifying, the frequency and type of audits, and the level of recognition.

  • C: Single certification, annual audit, benchmarked to GFSI
  • B: Group certification, annual audits, benchmarked to GFSI, developed based on GLOBALG.A.P.’s group certification scheme
  • A1: Single certification, four-year audit cycle (in years 2, 3 and 4, the operator must submit a sworn declaration that the facility continues to comply with CanadaGAP program requirements, accompanied by a self-assessment checklist that is reviewed by the certification body and a random audit program)
  • A2: Single certification, variable four-year audit cycle (in years 2, 3 and 4, the operator must submit a sworn declaration that the facility continues to comply with CanadaGAP program requirements)
  • D: Single certification, annual audit for repackers, wholesalers and brokers, currently undergoing benchmarking to GFSI

List of CanadaGAP Certified Companies by NSF

View a current list of companies that have been CanadaGAP-certified by NSF Canada Agricultural Certification Company (NSF Canada Ag).
Access the list

Share this Article

How NSF Can Help You

Get in touch to find out how we can help you and your business thrive.